He Rescues Us

I wrote a song back in 1979 called “He Rescued Me”.  Here’s the words:

I was living, but without life;
I had eyes but could not see.
Like a blind man in the darkness,
till you came and rescued me.

Oh Lord, how I need you,
As my shepherd and my guide,
Ever by my side.

You have bought me; You paid a high price.
You took my judgment as Your own.
By Your shed blood, I am worthy,
Of a place before Your throne.

Oh Lord, how I love you,
As my savior and my king,
Lord of everything.

In 2008, I was living in Manchester, NH, and had an opportunity to share this song at a festival at a park in the center of town.  A few weeks before this, an incident occurred along the Merrimack river that runs through Manchester.  There were some homeless people who had waded out into the river to bath, not realizing that the river current was stronger than usual due to some recent heavy rains.  The current swept them away down the river.  Fortunately, someone nearby called 911 and they were able to be rescued by a police helicopter.

Before I sang the song, I mentioned this incident, and how life can be like this river current.  We get swept away unexpectedly, and find ourselves helpless to the “current” of life.  We can’t rescue ourselves, but we need to be rescued, just like that helicopter pulled those people from the river.  Fortunately, if we cry out to God and wait for Him to respond, He can rescue us.  When life gets us trapped in its harmful flow that pulls us into dangerous places where we get bruised and feel like we are being pulled under water, gasping for air, we need to cry out to God and wait for His hand to reach down and pull us free.

The amazing thing is that the Lord will do this multiple times in our lives.  He has for me.  Somehow, beyond our knowledge and power, we manage to get “swept away” , but God in His mercy is ready to pull us free.

King David experienced this same situation thousands of years ago and wrote a psalm about it.  It’s psalm 40, and it begins like this:

“I waited patiently for the Lord;
And He inclined to me,
And heard my cry.
He also brought me out of a horrible pit,
Out of the miry clay,
And set my feed upon a rock,
And established my steps.
He had put a new song in my mouth-
Praise to our God.
Many will see it and fear,
And will trust in the Lord.
Blessed is the man who makes the Lord his trust,
And does not respect the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.”

Being stuck in a pit of miry clay is probably an even better analogy of where we can find ourselves in this life.  Here again, God is able to rescue us when we cry out to Him.  He sets our feet on a solid foundation where we can stand firmly and confidently, unlike the miry clay that we sink into and can’t move.

David continues in the psalm to indicate that the Lord’s wonderful works, like rescuing us, are many:

Many, O Lord my God, are Your wonderful works which you have done;
And Your thoughts toward us cannot be recounted to You in order;
If I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered.”

There is also an old hymn that is taken from psalm 40 and the chorus says:

“He brought me out of the miry clay.
He set my feet on the rock to stay.
He puts a song in my soul today,
A song of praise, Halleluah!”

God is in the business of rescuing those who cry out to Him, and He is willing to do so many times in our lives.  He has been merciful to me many times.  This is my testimony to you that God has done so for me and He will do so for you also if you cry out to Him.

Leave a Reply

