Seek His Face

In my last post we looked at the beginning of Psalm 27.  In this Psalm, David is encouraging himself in the Lord and starts by reminding himself that: 1) Having a view of eternity puts the situations of this life into proper perspective.  Jesus is the source of truth and eternal salvation, so we can be secure in His promises no matter what we face.  2) God is greater than anything that man can bring against us.  As His children we can rest assured that only what God allows will impact our lives.  As the prophet Isaiah says: “…no weapon fashioned against you shall prosper, and you shall confute every tongue that rises against you in judgement.  This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord.”

David then goes on to give another key to finding power in the face of  threatening circumstances. Ps 27: 4 & 5, “One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple.  For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent, he will set me high upon a rock.”

He’s not talking here about going to church.  I believe David is speaking of the presence of the Lord, entering into His presence in our time of prayer and meditation.  Listening for His voice, meditating on His ways, seeking His truth, seeking His presence, David knows that these things will sustain you when your situation begins to threaten your peace or when fear begins to overwhelm you.

I remember seeing a painting long ago of a violent thunder storm with dark clouds, violent winds, and flashing lightning.  The title of the painting was “Perfect Peace”.  This at first confused me but as I looked closer I could see a birds nest in a tree where you could see young birds huddled close to their mother, under her wings, protected from the storm.  We too can find this same peace in the presence of the Lord, under His wings.

David goes on to say (vs.6), “And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies round about me; and I will offer in his tent sacrifices with shouts of joy; I will sing and make melody to the Lord.”  Not only does the fear and anxiety leave in the presence of the Lord, but joy will begin to well up inside us.  As the reality of God’s truth overwhelms us, we will begin to rejoice rather than fret.  If God is for us, who can be against us?  Who can separate us from the love of God? Jesus has already won the victory; He has conquered death and hell.  When the reality of this hits you, rejoicing will be the result.

David goes on (vs. 7 to 9), “Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud, be gracious to me and answer me!  Thou hast said, “Seek ye my face.”  My heart says to thee, “Thy face, Lord, do I seek.”  Hide not thy face from me.”

The original Hebrew word for “face” in this verse seems to have various meanings and I believe the translation is not straight forward.  The word could mean “to appear”, or “to turn and face”, and I believe it refers more to God’s presence than his actual facial features.  I believe David is saying that He seeks being in the very presence of the Lord and to know the Lord in this intimate way.

There was a book written a few decades ago entitled “Knowing God”.  The main point of the book was to encourage the reader that it was not enough to just know “about” God, but there is a need to actually know God Himself, intimately, literally, in a way that is possibly incomprehensible to others, or that words can’t express.   To do this, we need to seek Him.  We need to spend time before Him.  As we do this, not only will we grow in our day to day strength, but it will also prepare us for the future situation when we are faced with our greatest fears.  We can then enter into His presence and find that perfect peace that passes all understanding, that will take us though the storm.

David knew this thousands of years ago.  The same is true today, and it’s available to us.  Amazing!  Remember this truth and encourage yourself in this as David did when trouble arises against you.  Prepare yourself now so that you can easily enter in to His presence when the need is greatest.

Leave a Reply

